About us

Who we are…

The EKŌ Association of European Shin Buddhists (“EKO-Gemeinschaft”) is a registered association, which must not be confused with the EKO-Haus of Japanese Culture Association.  The latter one is the supporting association of the Japanese center in Dusseldorf, the  “EKO-Haus”, in its entirety, meanwhile the EKO Association of European Shin-Buddhists (“EKO-Gemeinschaft”) is a small association, which supports the Shin Buddhist activities of the EKO temple.

When the entrepreneur Rev. Numata Ehan (1897-1994) founded the EKO-Haus and the affiliated EKO temple, his intention was to promote with the newly erected temple all denominations of Buddhism. Therefore, the temple belongs to the Bukkyō Dendō Kyōkai, the Japan-based Association for the Promotion of Buddhism, initiated by Rev. Numata. This association is also in charge with the delegation of the Japanese priests.

Rev. Numata himself belonged to the Jōdo Shinshu Honganji-ha, hence the main hall is equipped in the style of this denomination. As Shin Buddhist temple of this size the EKŌ temple is unique in Europe, and the highest-ranking representatives of Jōdo Shinshū have repeatedly visited it. However, due to the wish of its founder it is an ecumenical Buddhist temple, so from its very beginnings, it also hosted Zen Buddhist activities and the open-mindedness to other religions has always been essential.

In this special situation, the EKŌ-Gemeinschaft, which focusses on the Shin Buddhist activities at the temple, was founded in 2000.  Essentially, the association tries to invigorate the communication between the many different parties: the Shin Buddhist “church” in Japan (the Jōdo Shinshu Honganji-ha) and the different Shin Buddhist communities in Europe, which have been emerging since the 1950ies (e.g. the Buddhist Community Jodo Shinshu in Germany [BGJ-D]).

 …and what we are doing

The annual Hōonkō seminar is made possible by a larger donation of the Nishi-Honganji, the main temple of the Honganji-ha in Japan. The donation enables the association to invite the referent from Japan who holds the Hōonkō seminar. In this way, the association makes decisions about the organization of the Hōonkō festivities. The association also influences by its advice all other Shin Buddhist activities of the EKŌ temple. It is a platform for discussing the development of Shin Buddhism in a short- and long-term perspective.

Although solely German-speaking members founded the association and the lingua franca in general meetings has been German so far, in the recent couple of years the importance of international interconnectedness has become more and more clear. Therefore, the association tries hard to create contacts between the various Shin Buddhist groups in UK, Belgium, French-speaking Swiss etc.  It wants to be a partner for all Shin Buddhists in Europe, who is always accessible, and will place special emphasis on English-speaking events in future.

Über uns

Wer wir sind…

Die EKŌ-Gemeinschaft der Europäischen Shin-Buddhisten e.v. ist ein eingetragener Verein, der nicht verwechselt werden darf mit dem EKŌ-Haus der Japanischen Kultur e.V. Letzteres ist der Trägerverein des ganzen gleichnamigen Kulturzentrums in Düsseldorf. Die EKŌ-Gemeinschaft dagegen ist ein kleiner Verein, der am EKŌ-Tempel beheimatet ist.

Als der Industrielle Rev. Numata Ehan (1897-1994), am Anfang der 1990er Jahre das EKŌ-Haus und den angegliederten EKŌ-Tempel stiftete, hatte er die Absicht, mit dem Tempelbau alle Schulen des Buddhismus zu fördern. Der Tempel gehört darum zur Bukkyō Dendō Kyōkai, einem in Japan angesiedeltem Verein zur Förderung des Buddhismus, den Rev. Ehan ins Leben rief, und dieser Verein ist auch für die Bestellung des japanischen Priesters zuständig.

Rev. Numata Ehan selbst gehörte der Jōdo Shinshu Honganji-ha und darum ist die Haupthalle des Tempels ganz im Stile dieser buddhistischen Schule gestaltet. Es ist der einzige Shin-buddhistische Tempel dieser Größe in Europa, der wiederholt von den Oberhäuptern der Jōdo Shinshu besucht worden ist. Dennoch ist er dem Wunsch des Stifters zufolge allgemein-buddhistisch. Von Anfang an war hier auch der Zen-Buddhismus vertreten, und die Offenheit auch zu anderen Religionen war immer eine unumstößliche Richtlinie.

In dieser besonderen Situation wurde im Jahr 2000 die EKŌ-Gemeinschaft gegründet, die sich mit den Shin-buddhistischen Aktivitäten am Tempel beschäftigt. Im Wesentlichen versucht der Verein die Kommunikation zwischen verschiedenen Seiten zu beleben: der in Japan ansässigen Shin-buddhistischen “Kirche” (Jōdo Shinshu Honganji-ha) und den verschiedenen kleinen Shin-buddhistischen Gemeinschaften, die in Europa seit den 1950ger Jahren enstanden sind (z.B. der Buddhistischen Gemeinschaft Jōdo Shinshu e.V.)

…und was wir tun

Insbesondere das jährlich am EKŌ-Tempel stattfindende Hōonkō-Fest verdankt sich einer größeren Spende, die die EKŌ-Gemeinschaft von Seiten des Nishi-Honganji, dem Haupttempel der Honganji-ha, erhält. Diese Spende ermöglicht einen Referenten aus Japan einzuladen, der das Hoonko-Seminar hält. Der Verein entscheidet über die Einladung und die Organisation des Festes. Er hat aber auch wesentlichen Einfluss auf die Gestaltung aller anderen Shin-buddhistsichen Feste und Veranstaltungen.

Obwohl der Verein ausschließlich von deutschsprachigen Mitgliedern gegründet worden ist, hat sich in den letzten Jahren die internationale Vernetzung als zunehmend wichtig erwiesen. Der Verein versucht Kontakte zu schaffen zwischen den verschiedenen Gruppen in England, Belgien, der französischsprachigen Schweiz und anderen europäischen Ländern. Er ist ein jederzeit ansprechbarer Partner für alle europäischen Shin-Buddhisten und we wird sich auch in Zukunft um viele englisch-sprachigen Veranstaltungen bemühen.